A colorful mix of grassroots motorsport - A review of the ADAC Racing Weekend


The ADAC Racing Weekend at the Nürburgring will be remembered particularly fondly by some of the participants: Finn Zulauf (Audi R8 LMS GT3) celebrated his first victory in the GT Sprint and also won the GT60 powered by Pirelli together with Luca Engstler, while Jürgen Alzen (Ford GT Turbo) was able to defeat his brother Uwe (Audi R8 GT3 Evo) for the first time in the Special Touring Car Trophy (STT). Leon Arndt (VW Up! GTI) finished first twice in the Touring Car Junior Cup and Anton Werner took the biggest trophy in both races of the Touring Car Classic. Exciting sport was also offered by the DMV BMW 318ti Cup, the DMV BMW Challenge, the DMV Classic Masters, the DMV NES 500 and the Touring Car Revival.

GT3 protégé Finn Zulauf shines with two triumphs in the GTC Race
18-year-old Finn Zulauf celebrated his first victory in the GT Sprint, the sprint series of the GTC Race. He dueled with Robin Rogalski (Audi R8 LMS GT3) for a long time and finally prevailed. With a gap of over 20 seconds, Friedel Bleifuss (Porsche 991 GT3 R) lined up third. For race two, Luca Engstler took over Zulauf's Audi but was unable to prevent Max Hofer (Audi R8 LMS GT3) from winning. Instead, he had to look more in the rear-view mirror, especially in the final phase, because Timo Bernhard (Porsche 991 GT3 R) put a lot of pressure on him. On the track, he mastered this task, but after crossing the finish line, Engstler was disqualified for a car that was too light. Bernhard moved up to second position, with Rogalski inheriting third. 

Zulauf was also unbeatable in the GT60 powered by Pirelli together with his team partner Engstler. Solo starter Rogalski finished second ahead of the duo Heiko Neumann / Timo Rumpfkeil (Mercedes-AMG GT3). The race was ended prematurely after an accident by Bastian Hein (Audi R8 LMS GT4).

Jürgen Alzen benefits from puncture of his brother Uwe 
Uwe Alzen's winning streak in the STT has been snapped. In the first race, he had to make a pit stop after a puncture, which relegated the previously second-placed driver to the midfield. By the time he crossed the finish line, the perennial winner had climbed to second place behind Jürgen Alzen. Josef Klüber (Mercedes-AMG GT3) secured third position. One day later, Uwe Alzen again lived up to his role as favorite and won ahead of his brother Jürgen and Stefan Wieninger (Audi R8 LMS Evo).

Leon Arndt unbeatable in the Eifel
In the Touring Car Junior Cup, both winners' trophies went to Leon Arndt - he is the first driver to have more than one triumph to his credit in the 2022 Touring Car Junior Cup. The junior driver was chased in heat one by Linus Hahne and Fabio Rauer, who ultimately also finished second and third. In Heat Two, Hahne had to pit while leading, which gave Arndt the clear lead. He subsequently drove to an unchallenged success; he was accompanied by Leonard Heidegger and Rauer to the victory ceremony. 

Double winner Anton Werner 
The Touring Car Classic also had a double winner in Anton Werner (Porsche 996 Cup). In the first heat, Altfrid Heger (Porsche 911 GT3 Cup) and Heinz Weißenbacher (Porsche 997 Cup) lined up in the following places. In the second heat, Heger retired early because his Porsche lost fluid, which caused the Essener to spin. Meanwhile, the battle raged on at the front, but there was no change in positions. Werner was delighted with his second triumph ahead of Weißenbacher and Thilo Goos (Aston Martin V8 Vantage N24).

At the Touring Car Revival, the substructure of the Touring Car Classic, two regularity tests were on the program, in which Christian Mannl (BMW M3 E30) and Thilo Goos (Aston Martin V8 Vantage N24) were not to be beaten.

Michael Kuster in front with his Maserati Trofeo
The duo Maurice Thormählen / Hinrich Thormählen (BMW M3 GTR E46) won the first round of the DMV BMW Challenge ahead of Sebastian Kühn (BMW M1 GTR) and Niklas Koch (Mini GTR 1.6T). In the second comparison Kühn celebrated a clear victory. Viszokay Arpad (BMW M4 GT4) was narrowly defeated by Edwin van de Munckhof (BMW KK M4 GTR) in the duel for second place. In the DMV Classic Masters, Michael Kuster was the dominant man in his Maserati Trofeo. Lutz Peper / Maximilian Becker (BMW M3 E30 Evo) and Nico Send / Uwe Send (Opel Kadett C GTE) lined up in positions two and three in heat one. In Heat two, Thomas Röpke (Porsche 964 GT 3.6) and Mark Schnyder (Alfa Romeo 75 2.0 TB) crossed the finish line behind Kuster.

Defending champion Sebastian Vollak triumphs from last grid spot
In the DMV BMW 318ti Cup, in which all drivers compete with a standard vehicle, Sebastian Vollak was disqualified after race one due to a vehicle not conforming to the regulations and consequently had to start race two from the back. But that didn't stop him from being flagged off as the winner ahead of Julian Rehberg and Fabian Brügge / Marcel Hellberg. The triumph in heat one went to Manuel Brinkmann / Florian Sternkopf ahead of Ioannis Smyrlis and Linus Jansen. The laurels in the final DMV NES 500 were secured by Viszokay Arpad / Adam Lengyel / Gabriele Piana (BMW M4 GT4) ahead of Benny Leuchter (VW Golf GTI TCR) and Koen de Wit (BMW M4 GT4).

Jürgen Hieke, first chairman of the organizing club MSC Bork, drew a positive conclusion: "It is nice that we have now experienced the premiere of this event this year, which was actually already planned in 2021. We have experienced three days with modern and historic race cars, old hands and strong young drivers - a colorful mix from all areas of touring car grassroots sport."