Mercedes-AMG duo Owega/Seppänen take the lead in the standings after victory at the Nürburgring


The youth kept their cool in the fifth race of the ADAC GT Masters: 18-year-old Salman Owega (Cologne) and Elias Seppänen (19/FIN) celebrated their second victory in a week at the Nürburgring thanks to a strong overtaking manoeuvre at the start. In the Landgraf Motorsport Mercedes-AMG GT3, the winners left their rivals no chance and drove to their second win of the season with a comfortable 15-second lead. "It was still raining just before the start, but we decided to use slicks anyway. The changing conditions suited me very well. After I took the lead at the hairpin, I was able to quickly open up a gap. After that I especially avoided the wet curbs and didn't want to take too much risk. Elias then completed the win perfectly in the second section of the race," said Owega. Second place went to Alain Valente (CHE) and Ralf Aron (EST/both Haupt Racing Team) in another Mercedes-AMG. The podium was completed by Maximilian Paul (Dresden) and Simon Connor Primm (Großschirma) in the Paul Motorsport Lamborghini Huracán GT3 Evo after a highly exciting final phase. 

Shortly before the start of the race on Saturday afternoon, a rain shower along the 3.629-kilometre traditional circuit provided an additional element of suspense in the ADAC GT Masters. Under cloudy skies and temperatures of 22 degrees Celsius, Owega proved his nerve on the partly still wet circuit in the Eifel and took the lead shortly after the start in turn one. The spectators in the full grandstands formed a strong backdrop at the ADAC Truck Grand Prix and were delighted to see gripping motorsport. Owega quickly built up a comfortable lead and, in the lead, handed over to his team-mate Seppänen at the mandatory pit stop. The Mercedes-AMG driver then saw the chequered flag in first place. With one race to go, the Landgraf duo took the lead in the standings. 

Second-placed Valente laid the foundation for his first podium success in the ADAC GT Masters with his good start. Starting from eighth place, the 26-year-old gradually fought his way to the front. A late pit stop saw his team-mate Aron turn back onto the former Formula 1 circuit in second place and bring the Mercedes-AMG GT3 home in that position. "It was pretty tight in the first corner and I kept out of the chaos. That allowed me to make up positions. We opted for a late pit stop, unlike the teams in front of us. The strategy paid off in full," Valente explained. The fight for third place became a nail-biter for Paul Motorsport in the final laps. After ADAC GT Masters debutant Primm drove permanently in the top three with the Lamborghini, final driver Paul withstood the constant pressure from Marco Wittmann (Fürth/Project 1) and rewarded himself with the podium. "At the beginning of my stint I wanted to move up to second place. However, I lacked a bit of top speed. That's why I decided to defend third place. The last laps in the duel with Marco were really fun and I'm happy to take home the trophy," reported Lamborghini Junior Paul. Fourth place went to Sandro Holzem (Polch) and DTM driver Wittmann from Project 1 after numerous wheel-to-wheel duels. The BMW duo improved by six positions. 

Fifth place went to pole-setter Tim Zimmermann (Langenargen) and Jaxon Evans (NZ/Huber Racing) in a Porsche 911 GT3 R. Behind them in sixth place were the two Lamborghini drivers Benjamin Hites (CHL) and Marco Mapelli (I/both GRT Grasser Racing Team). Seventh in the BMW M4 GT3 was Kim-Luis Schramm (Meuspath) and Neil Verhagen (USA/both FK Performance Motorsport). Eighth place went to the BMW duo of Eduardo Coseteng (PHL) and Ben Green (GB/both Schubert Motorsport). Championship leaders Jannes Fittje (Langenhain) and Nico Menzel (Kelberg) in the Huber Motorsport Porsche 911 GT3 R finished the 60-minute sprint race in ninth place. Finn Gehrsitz (Stuttgart) and Sven Müller (Bingen/both Team Joos by Racemotion) completed the top ten in the Porsche 911 GT3 R.