Many title decisions at the ADAC Racing Weekend finale


Strong finale for the ADAC Racing Weekend: With numerous title decisions and more than 350 cars in eight racing series and two regularity competitions, the second season of the popular sports platform ended at the Grand Prix circuit of the Nürburgring. In the ADAC Formula 4, Andrea Kimi Antonelli took the crown, in the Special Touring Car Trophy (STT), favourite Uwe Alzen (Audi R8 GT3 Evo) clinched the title. Hans-Robert Holzer (BMW M3 E30) and Anton Werner (Porsche 911 GT3 Cup) collected the most points in the Touring Car Legends and in the Touring Car Classic, while the best driver of the year in the Touring Car Junior Cup is Elias Olsen (VW up! GTI). And the new champions were also crowned in other racing series. 

Favourite wins in the Special Touring Car Trophy
Uwe Alzen took the lead already in the first lap of race one, extended it further and further and because his strongest rival Jürgen Alzen (Ford GT Turbo) pitted shortly before the end of the race due to rain, Uwe Alzen was even able to gain a one-lap lead over the entire field. Jürgen Alzen and Henk Thuis (Pumaxs RT) finished second and third. In the final race, Uwe Alzen only had to reach the finish in classification, then the title could no longer be taken away from him. With another triumph ahead of Jürgen Alzen and Thuis, the new champion said goodbye to the winter break. 

Thorsten Stadler and Sebastian Asch with Triumphs in the Touring Car Legends 
Big names started in the Touring Car Legends, but at the end of the first heat Thorsten Stadler (AMG Mercedes C-Class ITC) was on top of the podium. Roland Asch took second place in his Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evo I and Jean-Pierre Zimmer (Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evo I) finished third ahead of former stars Klaus Ludwig and Kurt Thiim (both Mercedes 190 E 2.5-16 Evo II). Sebastian Asch (AMG Mercedes C-Class ITC), who replaced Maximilian Götz who was ill, did even better than his father in the second race and finished first ahead of Stefan Mücke (Ford Mustang DTM) and Zimmer.

The two biggest trophies in the Touring Car Classic went to Christoph Peper (BMW M3 E46) and Anton Werner. Mark Trompeter (Porsche 911 Cup) climbed onto the podium in second place after both races, and Peper and Christoph Driescher (BMW M3 E90) were also each pleased with third position once. 

Elias Olsen wins exciting finale in the Touring Car Junior Cup
The youngsters in the Touring Car Junior Cup, who all compete with uniform VW up! GTIs, made it particularly exciting on the home stretch of the season. In the first round, Elias Olsen won without a doubt ahead of Fabio Rauer and Leon Arndt, which brought the Dane to within five points of championship leader Arndt. In the last heat of the season, he didn't let anything happen and won ahead of Rauer and Linus Hahne. He was lucky because an attack by his rival Arndt in the last corner of the race ended in a collision. Olsen was still able to continue and celebrated as the new overall winner even before the 30-second penalty against Arndt. 

Andrea Kimi Antonelli best of ADAC Formula 4 2022
In race one of the ADAC Formula 4, Andrea Kimi Antonelli kept the necessary patience in a duel with Rafael Camara on drying tarmac and won ahead of his team-mate as well as James Wharton, who, like all the competitors, drove a Tatuus single-seater formula racer. Rain set in immediately before the start of the second race, but even that could not stop Antonelli from racing towards another triumph. Taylor Barnard and Ugo Ugochukwu were allowed to climb the podium next to the new ADAC Formula 4 champion. In the final heat of the ADAC Formula 4 2022, Barnard was able to cheer once more, crossing the finish line ahead of Ugochukwu and Camara.

Historic Formula cars and Porsche offer exciting races
In the AvD Historic Race, Stephan Lechine (Reynard F389 VW-Spiess) saw the chequered flag first in the first heat, although he spun on a partly still wet track. Marvin Brandl and David Schneider (both Opel Lotus Mk.II) finished second and third. In the second heat, Jochen Thissen (Opel Lotus Mk.II) celebrated victory ahead of Pascal Monbaron (Van Diemen RF00) and Phillip Menzner (Reynard SF86). Roberto Cocciarelli (Swift DB2 Ford) won his class twice and can now call himself champion of the AvD Historic Race Cup 2022. 

Heinz-Bert Wolters (Porsche 911 GT3 R) didn't mind fog and a damp track in the first race of the Porsche Club Historic Challenge (PCHC), triumphing ahead of Thomas Lindemann (Porsche 911 GT3 R) and Peter Mamerow (Porsche 911 (991) GT3 R). In race two, the conditions were better and Mamerow celebrated a clear success. Marvin Meister (Porsche 911 GT3 Cup) crossed the finish line in second place, with Lindemann third. Christian Voigtländer (Porsche 911 GT3 Cup) was also delighted to become the PCHC 2022 champion.

Regularity tests round off programme in the Eifel 
Erik Bruynoghe (Porsche 911) won race one of the Belcar Historic Cup ahead of Luc Moortgat (Porsche 911) and Jan van Elderen (Ford Sierra Cosworth). Race two was to be the prey of Moortgat, who relegated van Elden and Evertjan Alders (BMW E30 329i) to second and third place. And finally, two regularity series were also on the agenda. The two stages of the Touring Car Revival went to Thilo Goos (Aston Martin V8 Vantage N24) and Peter Röskes / Susanne Röskes (Mercedes SLK 55 AMG). In the GLPpro the winners were Alex Brinkmann (Ford Escort MkII), Mario Müller (BMW 328i) and Tobias Möhring (Saker GT).

"Thanks to the optimal preparation and the perfect interaction of all parts of the organisation, we experienced an excellent ADAC Racing Weekend with more than 350 vehicles," Jürgen Hieke, organisation manager of the organising MSC Bork, summarised with satisfaction.